Two of Cups: Fulfilling Love

Tarot Stories
2 min readDec 14, 2020

--

More sporadic holidays and as much as I am grateful for the longer weekend, I’m not sure this was the best idea. I am oddly anxious and slightly depressed, and I have no idea why I feel this way. It’s like I am waiting for something to happen, but it’s not a good thing.

I’m still dreading the new year, and I kinda wish the next two weeks would stretch and feel like incredibly long and happy weeks. I’ve lined up all the holiday movies I want to watch and all the gifts I’ll need to wrap, and I try to cling onto the anticipation of those to get me through this week.

Two of Cups from the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck

What you see: A young man and woman exchange cups; they wear laurel crowns, white undergarments and brightly coloured tunics. Between them is an emblem with two entwined snakes around a staff, the head of a lion and the wings of an eagle.

What it means: The couple are exchanging vows, with the caduceus of Hermes between them. The winged lion is a biblical symbol: the first beast in the first vision of Daniel. It is also the heraldic symbol of Mark the Evangelist.

The story: The Two of Cups represents a deep connection or partnership; the flow of love between two people that is fulfilling and rewarding.

Reversed meaning: Reversed, the card represents false love, break-ups or alternatively self-love.

Reflection: The card resembles a marriage: two people exchanging vows with cups symbolic of all their emotions and love. The clothes on the couple reflect the energy, passion and desire in the man, and the watery emotion in the woman. The white undergarments symbolize innocence.

My research sources:
A Complete Guide to the Tarot, Eden Gray, 1970
Tarot Card Meanings, Biddy Tarot
Card Meanings, Labyrinthos
Root Lock Radio: A Tarot Podcast

--

--

Tarot Stories

A Canadian marketing strategist learning storytelling through the Tarot, and maybe finding the meaning of life along the way.