Six of Wands: Recognized Triumph

Tarot Stories
2 min readDec 1, 2020

--

The card I picked today feels at odds with where I am personally. I got some bad news over the weekend which has cast a gloom over me. The news puts me in a bit of a holding pattern (more waiting, in addition to all the other waiting that we’ve been doing this year) which means despite not having concrete answers, I will be anxious and on edge for the next few months.

Even as I think about my professional life, I don’t feel particularly recognized or appreciated lately. I’m struggling to keep motivated, feeling like I’m not good enough or valuable to my team, and not producing anything I’m particularly proud of. So, I’m not feeling the connection to this card at all. I am just not there yet.

Six of Wands from the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck

What you see: A man with a laurel wreath on his head and draped in a red cloak rides a decorated white horse. He holds a wand in his right hand that has a wreath hung on it, and is surrounded by onlookers also holding wands.

What it means: The wreath is a symbol of victory and triumph, which means the scene portrayed on the card is a celebration of some success. The red cloak signifies energy and passion, while the white horse represents strength and purity. The crowd appears to be wearing turbans signifying nobility.

The story: The Six of Wands represents victory after conflict; it’s a public celebration of success and therefore receiving outward recognition for it.

Reversed meaning: Reversed, the card represents lack of recognition for an achievement or keeping the success private.

Reflection: The card is rather colourful, as celebrations often are, however the blue of the background makes it feel a bit passive. It isn’t the bright yellow I would’ve expected. Perhaps, it indicates that this is a milestone but not the final victory. It is an award or encouragement along the way to getting there.

My research sources:
A Complete Guide to the Tarot, Eden Gray, 1970
Tarot Card Meanings, Biddy Tarot
Card Meanings, Labyrinthos
Root Lock Radio: A Tarot Podcast

--

--

Tarot Stories

A Canadian marketing strategist learning storytelling through the Tarot, and maybe finding the meaning of life along the way.