Nine of Pentacles: Rewarded Efforts

Tarot Stories
2 min readJan 28, 2021

--

I woke up feeling cynical this morning. More so than I usually do. That’s why, when I picked up this card I felt like I was being mocked. I should be grateful for all that I have and yet all the worries and insecurities are hiding behind a giant door marked “anxieties” in my brain, and that door keeps opening and leaking its inhabitants out.

Reading about GameStop in the news today, the thing that kept jumping out at me is the unfairness of it all. I don’t know how the super wealthy can sit on piles of cash and live with themselves, knowing there are people whose lives could be saved with even a tiny amount of money. The injustice of it all gets to me somedays. Being an idealist sucks because you often find yourself losing your entire belief system and then floating in outer space with no tether.

Nine of Pentacles from the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck

What you see: A woman in glamorous clothes walks through a luscious vineyard, surrounded by nine pentacles. She holds out her gloved left hand, on which a falcon is perched. In the background sits a large house and mountains in the distance.

What it means: The woman is enjoying the fruits of her labour — she is covered in finery and relishing her possessions. The falcon in her hand symbolizes spiritual self-control.

The story: The Nine of Pentacles represents self-sufficiency and material security; the ability to enjoy the fruits of your own labour.

Reversed meaning: Reversed, the card represents material instability, reckless spending or living beyond your means.

Reflection: This card is filled with sunshine and golden hues. The woman appears to be satisfied and appears to be a “lady of leisure”. It feels like the card is the goal we are all working towards — to be able to be secure enough in our finances that we can truly enjoy ourselves. The problem is in the world we live in right now, that may never happen or happen only when we are no longer in a position to actually enjoy ourselves the way we can in our youth.

My research sources:
A Complete Guide to the Tarot, Eden Gray, 1970
Tarot Card Meanings, Biddy Tarot
Card Meanings, Labyrinthos
Root Lock Radio: A Tarot Podcast

--

--

Tarot Stories

A Canadian marketing strategist learning storytelling through the Tarot, and maybe finding the meaning of life along the way.